Travel Reservation Hotline

Call and Book Your Hotel Now!

Domestic Toll-Free for US and Canada: 1-800-997-1438

Worldwide: +1-817-983-0682

Visa Requirements

Tourists wanting to enter Helsinki; Finland falls under the provisions of the Finnish Aliens Act and the Schengen Acquis.

The Schengen area consists of Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden. Citizens of these states do not require a Visa to enter Finland, allowing a maximum stay of 3 months.

EU and EEA

Citizens from EU and EEA member countries do not require a Visa nor a Passport to enter Finland (except UK citizens, passports are needed). They can stay for unlimited time using the National ID.

Citizens from the following countries do not require a Visa when entering as a tourist and are allowed to stay for a duration of 90 days:
SwitzerlandChileCosta RicaGuadeloupe
GuatemalaHong KongHondurasCroatia
IsraelIcelandJapanNorth Korea
South KoreaMonacoMacauLiechtenstein
NorwayNew ZealandPanamaParaguay
RomaniaSingaporeSloveniaSan Marino
El SalvadorUruguayVenezuelaUnited States
Vatican CityRĂ©union  

A passport is required for all wishing to visit Finland.
However, the following countries may present another document form of ID instead:
FinlandFranceGibraltarUnited Kingdom
San Marino   
Requirements of Tourist Visa:
  • Application form
  • 1 Passport-size photo
  • Valid passport with 1 full blank page
  • Return ticket
  • Evidence of sufficient funds for stay
  • Proof of purpose of visit
  • Visa fee payment
  • Insurance

Please note: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. Please contact your nearest embassy for accurate, up-to-date information.
For more details, please visit Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Finland

Sign up to our Newsletter